GKA Awards 2023

The Qatar Airways GKA Awards night that pays tribute kiteboarding’s greatest achievements and personalities has again shown its capacity to surprise and delight at a historic gala evening in the Spanish resort of Tarifa.

For the second successive year, the GKA Awards in partnership with Qatar Airways and Visit Qatar, has recognised the best athletes, their greatest achievements and outstanding contributions to the sport.

Many of the biggest names in kiteboarding were on hand as GKA CEO, Dr Jörgen Vogt, Senior Vice President of Qatar Airways, Steven Reynolds, and Tarifa’s caretaker mayor, Paco Ruiz, unveiled the winners of the coveted statuettes.

Awards Night Program

Awards Winners

We are honored to announce the GKA Awards Winners of 2023:

-Men’s Move of the Year Award: Andrea Principi “Double backroll, double kite loop, board-off flip, late front one foot”

-Women’s Move of the Year Award: Zara Hoogenraad “Kite loop late backroll”

-Photo of the Year Award: ” A very special shot” by Samuel Cárdenas x Sergio Turegano

-Video of the Year Award: “Grounded. A SunGod Film” by Lidewij Hartog x Airton Cozzolino

-Rookie of the Year Award: Gabriel Benetton

-Fan Award: Detlef & Monika Teichmann

-Social Contribution Award: Graham Howes (Dirty Habits Foundation & We Need To Talk movie)

-Female Rider of the Year Award: Mikaili Sol

-Male Rider of the Year Award: Gianmaria Coccoluto

-Legend Award: Mitu Monteiro


Read more about the Qatar Airways GKA Awards Night here.

Stay tuned for next year’s GKA Awards!